

JEFFERSON DAVIS PARISH SCHOOL BOARD AGENDA 203 E. PLAQUEMINE STREET JENNINGS, LOUISIANA

(337) 824-1834

AGENDA MEETING THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 17, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. LIVE REMOTE ACCESS

FILE: BCB - SCHOOL BOARD MEETING RULES OF PROCEDURE

An individual speaker who appears at a School Board meeting to speak on an agenda item must register prior to the meeting, and will be allotted three (3) minutes to speak on the agenda item prior to School Board discussion on the agenda item.

I. CALL TO ORDER

II. INVOCATION and PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. ROLL CALL FOR DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM.

	ARC	BORD	BOUL	BRUC	CAP	DEES	DOB	DOISE	LEGER	PERRY	SEG	SING	TRAHAN
--	-----	------	------	------	-----	------	-----	-------	-------	-------	-----	------	--------

IV. APPROVAL OF THE SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING ON OCTOBER 20, 2022.

MOTION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE

V. VOTE TO CHANGE THE ORDER OF TOPICS TO BE ADDRESSED AND TO ADD NEW ITEMS NOT ON THE ORIGINAL AGENDA.

MOTION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE

VI. RECOGNITIONS/PRESENTATIONS

 A. Jennings FFA members performed very well at the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis last month.

3rd Place, National Agronomy

Tyler Demary--2nd overall individual

Brennon Gary--8th overall individual

Michael O'Brien--11th overall individual

Ardyn Jardell--16th overall individual

All four members are gold emblem. Tyler, Brennon, and Michael all earned scholarships for their placing.

Additionally, Tyler, Brennon, and Ardyn all scored high enough on the Certified Crop Advisors Exam to earn credits toward becoming a crop consultant. They will be provided with internship opportunities during the summer to earn hours toward their certification.

12th Place/Gold Emblem, National Nursery/Landscaping Haiden Hearod Nicholas Rasberry Jacque Person Owen Oliver

Haiden Hearod earned a gold emblem as in individual as well.

Silver Emblem in Floriculture Thomas Knight Ava Clark Abby Ortego Jackson Hendrix

Thomas Knight earned a gold emblem for his performance.

Isaac Lejeune and Jillian Lantz were bronze emblem in Creed Speaking and Prepared Public Speaking, respectively.

Tyler Demary and Thomas Knight join a very select list of Louisiana FFA members to ever earn a gold emblem in two National FFA Contests. To my knowledge, only 8 students from Louisiana have ever accomplished this feat!

Also, Tyler Demary is the only student from Louisiana to finish in the top 10 of two national contests as an individual. He was 10th place at the National FFA Land Judging competition last May and the National Runner-Up in Agronomy this fall.

B. Elton FFA had the following winners at the National FFA Convention in October:

Farm Business Management- Gold Emblem Individuals- Tanner LaComb and Cayl Doise; Silver Emblem Individuals- Christian Moreno and Josh Woods. This team ranked Silver Emblem as a team.

Conduct of Chapter Meetings- Silver Emblem Team- Kenzly Shuff, Maverick Manuel, Maci LaFosse, Angelica Rivera, Avery Deshotel, Caroline Robinson, and Kharington Thomas

Kaleb LeMoine made it to the final round in the National FFA Officer Selection Process!

VI. BOARD COMMITTEE REPORTS:

- A. Finance Committee Paul Trahan, Chairman
- B. Insurance Malon Dobson, Chairman
- C. Building & Grounds Committee
- D. Policy- Jody Singletary, Chairman
- E. Transportation Committee Greg Bordelon, Chairman
- F. 16th Section-Charles Bruchhaus, Chairman
- G. Ward II Committee Phillip Arceneaux, Chairman
 - 1. Ward II will hold a meeting on Monday, Dec. 5, 2022 at 5:15 p.m.
- H. Legislative Liaison Donald Dees, Chairman
- I. Long Range Planning Donald Dees, Chairman
- J. Food Service Committee Terry Leger, Chairman

VII. SALES TAX REPORT - by Amber Hymel, Tax Collector.

VIII. NEW BUSINESS:

1. To consider and take action with respect to adopting a resolution authorizing the advertising for electronic bids for the purchase of One Million Four Hundred Seventy-Five Thousand Dollars (\$1,475,000) of General Obligation School Bonds, Series 2023, of School District No. 5 of the Parish of Jefferson Davis, State of Louisiana, and providing for other matters in connection therewith.

	MOTION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE
- 1					

2. To consider and take action with respect to adopting a resolution authorizing the incurring of debt and issuance of One Million Four Hundred Seventy-Five Thousand Dollars (\$1,475,000) of General Obligation School Bonds, Series 2023, of School District No. 5 of the Parish of Jefferson Davis, State of Louisiana; prescribing the form, terms and conditions of said Bonds; designating the date, denomination and place of payment of said Bonds; providing for the payment thereof in principal and interest; and providing for other matters in connection therewith.

MOTION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE

- 3. Approve the following non-faculty coaches upon completion of LHSAA coaching course certification and Board policy requirements:
 - 1. Hunter Bihm WHS Baseball
 - 2. Joseph Lett WHS Baseball
 - 3. Summer Ceaser EHS Baseketball

MOTION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE

IX. INFORMATION

1. Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Teachers of the Year:

<u>Elementary</u>

Elton Elementary
Hathaway High
Jennings Elementary
Lacassine High
Lake Arthur Elementary

Tyler Chachere
Kim Sonnier
Kristen Meaux
Erica LeBlanc
Mechelle Paquette

Welsh Elementary Erica Hoag

Middle

Elton High Nicholas Benoit Fenton Elementary Aerial Storer

Hathaway High
Jennings High
Lacassine High
Lake Arthur High
Welsh Roanoke
Renee Fruge
Erin Dugas
Marie Willis
Elizabeth Vallo
Justin Welch

<u>High</u>

Elton High Kalita Watson Hathaway High Jodi Deshotel Jennings High Carrie Klein

Lacassine High Christine Richard
Lake Arthur High Ashley Lutyhe
Welsh High Tarra Kull

2. Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Support Employees of the Year: <u>Elementary</u>

Elton Elementary Ashley Hebert
Fenton Elementary Meghann Williams
Hathaway High Wallace "Wally" Moss

Jennings Elementary Alicia Prejean Lacassine High Erica Leckelt

Lake Arthur Elementary Sushanna Onellion Welsh Elementary Danielle Broussard

Middle

Elton High Brittany Thomas
Hathaway High Devon Richard
Jennings High Patricia Seymour

Lacassine High Laura Istre

Lake Arthur High Roderick Williams
Welsh Roanoke Camille Landry

<u>High</u>

Hathaway High
Jennings High
Lacassine High
Lake Arthur High
Christy Jardell (Hine)
Christian Blair
Joella Chadwick
Sabrina Zaunbrecher

Welsh High Haley Pole

3.	Condolences are extended to the family of Mrs. Marlene Royer, Calcasieu
	Route Bus Aide who retired in October, 2010 with 25 years of service.

X. PERSONNEL CHANGES

- X. CURRICULUM UPDATE BY SUPERVISOR RORY MYERS
- XI. SUPERINTENDENT'S COMMENTS NOT REQUIRING BOARD ACTION

XII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion to enter into Executive session.

<i>,</i>	Motor to onto me Exceptive description							
MOTION BY:		SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE			
В.	Motion to res	ume in regular s	session.					
MOT	ION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE			

XIII. ADJOURN

MOTION BY:	SECONDED BY:	PUBLIC COMMENT	DISCUSSION	VOTE

IN COMPLIANCE WITH STATE LAW, A COPY OF THIS AGENDA WAS POSTED IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE AT THE MEETING PLACE OF SAID BOARD ON FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 11, 2022 BY 4:00 P.M.

IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE AMERICAN WITH DISABILITIES ACT, IF YOU NEED SPECIAL ASSISTANCE, PLEASE CONTACT DEBBIE AT 337-824-1834 DESCRIBING THE ASSISTANCE THAT IS NECESSARY.